At Sea, Day 41, March 12, 2009

      Sunrise 7:04 am / Sunset 7:16 pm

     Got up early enough to have breakfast before crafts, but started working on the outline of South America.  Before I knew it I had just time to grab a glass of juice.  One of the ladies in crafts put a penguin on her book cover instead of an anchor.  It is gorgeous.

IMG_4484 She used scraps of yarn from all our projects.  It must be nice to have a talent.  We had to be out of the room by 10 so I called Ray and met him for breakfast.  He then went to pick up our passports and I had decided this would be my day at the pool.  I did get in the water and it felt great.  I met Ray for lunch and went back outside.  I worked on crafts instead of going back in the water.  Wrong move.  I did get a little sunburned.  It doesn’t hurt, but I’m hot — at least on the front side.  I will have to lay on my tummy for a little bit tomorrow to try to even out my legs.

     Our entertainment tonight was Jennifer Fair with her stunning soprano voice.  She had to cancel her last show a week or so ago.  She must have caught the Carnival Cough.  We have to turn our clocks one hour back tonight.

IMG_4486

     The Pacific Ocean is the largest of the Earth’s oceanic divisions.  Its name is derived from the Latin name Mare Pacificum, “peaceful sea”, bestowed upon it by the Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan.  At 65.3 million square miles in area covers about 46% of the Earth’s water surface and about 32% of its total surface area, making it larger than all of the Earth’s land area combined.  The Mariana Trench in the western North Pacific is the deepest point in the Pacific and in the world, reaching a depth of 35,798 ft.  Water temperatures in the Pacific vary from freezing in the poleward areas to bout 86 degrees F near the equator.  Salinity also varies latitudinally.  The water near the equator is less salty than that found in the mid-latitudes because of abundant equatorial precipitation throughout the year.  Poleward of the temperate latitudes salinity is also low, because little evaporation of seawater takes plce in these frigid areas.

Leave a Reply

