Wednesday, Oct. 7, 2009 – Varna, Bulgaria

IMG_6445 Stitch Varno

We didn’t rush getting off the ship today, I wanted to have my posts ready in case we found an Internet.  Stanley and Susie went ahead of us.  This was a tender port.  I tried to use the Internet at the dock but they didn’t have any WiFi codes left.  We had to pay $5 each for a round trip shuttle bus into town.  On the way out of the port there were very many ladies selling crocheted things hanging on lines.  Almost at the end I spotted a tablecloth that I liked.   There were many women selling things in town, also.

 IMG_6461  IMG_6469

They dropped us off by the Cathedral so we went in for a look.  We bought a book of pictures of the church.  There were vendors all around the church.  I was told there was Internet in the post office around the corner so Ray sat on a bench and off I went.  There were lines for almost anything you could want, except for the Internet.  I started walking looking at cafes to see if anyone was using a computer when I spotted a hotel.  I went in and asked if there was a WiFi Internet nearby and they had one.  I was allowed to use it and there was no code needed.  They wouldn’t accept US dollars, so I didn’t get a drink.

     I found my way back to Ray and we crossed the street and found a pedestrian area, the Opera House and then the flea market.  It was fun looking at everything but we couldn’t find a hat.

IMG_6473 IMG_6472

IMG_6470  IMG_6475

     We got on the shuttle bus to go back to the port and I had decided to get that tablecloth.  I spotted it again and the bus kept going and going and going.  I said I wasn’t going back that far.  Ray headed for the ship and I started walking to look for another one.  Well, I ended up walking to the end to buy it.  The tender ride was about 15 minutes to the ship.  It was rougher in the afternoon than it was in the morning.  I took these pictures in the morning.

IMG_6455 IMG_6459

     The entertainment tonight was Smokey Joe’s Cafe again and another Crew Show which we went to.  I got a great video of “Fountains”.

     Varna, the gem of the Bulgarian Sea, is situated at the end of the big Varna Bay, with a convenient and well conserved water area.  The city’s peculiar sea charm is sublime and moving.  Ancient, medieval, renaissance and modern cultures mingle and coexist throughout the city.  Apart from being a beach resort, Varna rivals the great cities of Sofia and Plovdiv, in it’s offering of cultural attractions and historical buildings, museums and art galleries.  The currency in Varna is the Bulgarian Leva.

Leave a Reply

