Day 22–Wed., Jan. 26, 2011–Papeete, Tahiti

     Papeete is located on the northwest side of the island of Tahiti.  Papeete is the chief town of the island and the capital of French Polynesia.  It was so nice to be able to just walk off the ship.  We were greeted by two groups of musicians.

IMG_1511 IMG_1513

We both have a cough, but Ray feels worse than I do.  We were told the shops open at 8, but it was really 9.  We walked through the closed Vaima Shopping Mall and then found our way to the local market.

  IMG_1519 IMG_1521 

     While Ray waited for the flower arrangement we ordered, I went 2 1/2 blocks down to by watercolors.  When I got to the store I was directed to, it was a hardware store with house paint.  They directed me to the Odyssey.  I went back to Ray and he went back to the ship and I took off in the other direction (where we originally were) to the store.  I bought some watercolors, glue and a marker.  I stopped by the visitor center to check on the Internet and they were sold out of the tickets needed.  They only had $45 tickets left for 5 hours and I would have to walk 3 long blocks to buy it.  I went back on the ship to use the ship’s Internet.  My blog was almost sent (after 10 minutes) and then was cut off.

 Tahiti   

We went to dinner and Christine and Willy did not show.  They had a tour in the afternoon.  We ate and went back to the cabin.  The entertainment was a new singing act, Peter Cousens from Australia, which we missed.  We both headed for bed to try to get rid of this cough.

IMG_1543 Sunset at Papeete

Leave a Reply

