Day 34–Sun., Oct. 30, 2011–Singapore & At Sea

     We thought we would sleep in this morning, but announcements woke us up about 8:40.  All aboard was at 10 am for a noon departure, so it wasn’t worth it to go ashore.  We had nothing scheduled until Wii at 11.  We did fishing today and Ray won!  I had –40, but it wasn’t the lowest score!  A light lunch and I was off to watercolor.  I didn’t bring my supplies so I painted a bookmark for the sale and then a cat.  Sue's painting of cat  A lady at my table said it looked like her cat, so I gave it to her.  When I showed the photo to Ray he said he liked it, so I might try to do another cat. I’ll have to work on the eyes.  The woman that I gave the cat to had a silk scarf with a lotus stitched on it.  I took a picture of it to use as a guide in the kit I bought in Vietnam.  In crafts we made a bracelet and will do the matching earrings tomorrow.  I then met Ray in the room and I read and relaxed while Ray watched TV.  I can’t believe the snow in the northeast.  I’m trying to not exert myself so I can get rid of this cough.

The show tonight was singing sensation Annie Frances.  We weren’t crazy about her first song, but she warmed up and we enjoyed the rest of the show.  She sang a wide range of songs.  Clocks go back another hour tonight and I will enjoy the sleep.  I’m almost finished with my fourth book and have just 2 left, so I will have to check out the library on board.  They have a couple of huge jigsaw puzzles going that are almost finished.

   The Merlion is a figure with the head of a lion and the body of a fish.  Its name comes from a combination of mermaid and lion.  The Merlion was used by the Singapore Tourism Board as its logo up to 1997 and continues to be its trademark symbol.  Supposedly, the lion head and fish body of the creature recalls the story of the legendary Sang Nila Utama, who saw a lion while hunting on an island, en route to Malacca.  The island eventually became the sea port of Temasek, a precursor to Singapore.

Laughter is the shortest distance between two people.”  ~ Victor Borge

Leave a Reply

